Key takeaways
- Disclosure: ChaChaCha is a POS vendor, powered by AppsPOS. We compared seven other POS options sold in Singapore using only what each vendor publishes on its own website as of September 2026.
- For a one- or two-outlet business, the subscription is often not the biggest cost. Card fees, hardware and add-on modules can outweigh it over a year.
- Published entry points range from no monthly fee (pay per transaction; see our free POS guide) to a flat daily price and modular monthly plans. Several vendors quote per setup, including us.
- From 30 September 2026, PSG, EDG and MRA are replaced by the EDGE Grant. Grants are paid on a reimbursement basis, so plan your cash flow.
Last reviewed: September 2026
How we compared (and who wrote this)
ChaChaCha is a point-of-sale system for Singapore businesses, powered by AppsPOS Pte. Ltd., a Singapore POS company operating since 2013. We sell POS systems, so every vendor on this page is a competitor. Read our view with that in mind.
This guide is for owners of one or two outlets: a hawker stall, a kiosk, a small café, a neighbourhood shop, a salon or a service counter. Running an unattended format instead? See our guide to opening a self-service laundromat. If you want a broader, industry-by-industry comparison, read our best POS system in Singapore guide instead. Choosing a POS system for small business in Singapore comes down to three things: what it really costs, how quickly you can get going, and how easy it is to leave.
Our rules:
- Vendor websites only. Every price and feature for another vendor comes from that vendor’s own Singapore page, linked where we use it. If we could not find something, we say “not stated on their website”. That does not mean it is missing.
- Published prices preferred. Small owners want to compare without sitting through five sales calls, so we favoured vendors that publish Singapore pricing. Prices exclude GST unless the vendor says otherwise.
- No ranking. We group options by budget and business type instead of scoring them.
We tried Square’s Singapore pages and they returned “page not found” when we checked, so Square is not included. Leaving a vendor out is not a judgement on it.
What small businesses should prioritise
A small business has less room for a bad POS decision. You probably do not have an IT person, and one wrong contract can tie up cash for two years. These are the points worth checking before you compare features.
- Total monthly cost, including payment fees. Add the subscription, any per-device or per-module charges, and what you pay per card or PayNow transaction. A plan with no monthly fee can still cost more than a subscription once card volume grows. Our POS pricing models guide explains the common structures, and our POS cost calculator helps you add it up.
- Hardware: buy, rent or bundled. Some vendors let you run on a phone or iPad you own. Others sell terminals outright, rent them by the day, or lease them free on an annual plan. Ask what happens to rented hardware when you cancel.
- Contract length. Look for monthly options, the cancellation notice period and whether prepaid fees are refunded. Annual billing is usually cheaper but commits you for a year.
- Setup and training time. Ask who loads your menu or product list, whether setup is do-it-yourself or in person, and how long staff training takes.
- Support hours. Your busiest hours are often evenings and weekends. Check the support hours and channels in writing.
- Offline mode. Ask what still works if the internet drops: taking orders, printing, card payments, or nothing at all.
- Grants. From 30 September 2026, grant support runs through the EDGE Grant. Check whether the vendor is approved and how claims work before you sign. See our grant guide.
Small business POS comparison table
What each vendor states on its own website, checked September 2026.
| Option | Published entry price | Payment fees (if stated) | Hardware | Contract |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ChaChaCha (powered by AppsPOS) | Quote-based | Quoted per setup | Supplied by AppsPOS as part of the package | Discussed in your quote |
| Qashier | $5/day, all features | Card processing quoted separately; online orders 2.75% + $0.20 | Own device, or terminals from $0.80/day extra | No lock-in; daily subscription, cancel any time |
| HitPay POS | No monthly fee; POS adds 0.2% on processing | PayNow 0.4% (min S$0.10); domestic cards 2.5% + S$0.50 | Tap to Pay free on supported phone; SoundBox SGD 30, WisePad 3 SGD 85 one-time | No setup fee, no monthly fee stated |
| Dinlr | S$89/month per device (annual) or S$99 (monthly) | Not stated on their pricing page | iPad-based; hardware sold separately (iPad from S$649) | Cancel any time; no pro-rata refund of the current cycle |
| Eats365 (F&B only) | POS Basic SG$39/month (annual) or SG$49 (monthly) | Not stated on their pricing page | Not priced on their pricing page | Annual or monthly plans |
| Rewardly | Growth from SGD39/month (NEA-licensed hawker) or $59; Professional from SGD99 | Not stated on their pricing page | Own device, buy, or free leasing on annual plan | No lock-in and no termination penalty stated |
| EPOS360 | Grow plan from SGD50 | Not stated on their pricing page | Runs on your phone; BlueTap payment device SGD 150 one-time | 12-month subscription gets 3 extra months free |
| Shopify POS | Basic $29 SGD/month; POS Pro add-on $129 SGD/month per location | In-person cards 3% + $0.50 SGD on Basic (online 3.2%) | Sold separately; phone or card reader | Monthly or yearly billing |
Small business POS options in detail
Qashier
Qashier charges one price, $5 a day excluding GST, for the whole platform: POS, payments, QR and online ordering at 0% commission, kitchen display, loyalty, bookings, GrabFood and foodpanda, mall GTO submission and accounting integrations including Xero. The plan covers up to three devices per store, three back-office logins and ten staff accounts. If you already own suitable hardware, Qashier says you pay only the $5 a day. Otherwise terminals add $0.80 to $1.50 a day with nothing upfront, and the QashierX2 terminal becomes yours after two years. Qashier states there is no lock-in contract and that quiet days carry the charge over to your next settlement. Card processing rates are quoted separately. Its site lists local support seven days a week.
HitPay POS
HitPay has no setup fee and no monthly fee. You pay per successful transaction: in-person PayNow is 0.4% (minimum S$0.10), domestic cards are 2.5% + S$0.50, international cards 3.2% + S$0.50, and Point of Sale adds 0.2% on top of processing. Tap to Pay is free on a supported phone, and hardware is a one-time purchase, such as the SoundBox at SGD 30 or the WisePad 3 at SGD 85, with no terminal rental. It syncs products across online and in-person channels and lists Xero among its integrations. This is the lowest fixed cost on the list, but check the fees at your expected card volume.
Dinlr
Dinlr is an iPad POS for F&B, including food trucks and stalls. Dinlr Waiter costs S$89 a month per device billed annually or S$99 monthly, and extra POS devices are S$39 a month. Modules are priced separately: kitchen display S$19 a month per device, online ordering S$89 per location, loyalty S$39 and delivery platform integration S$39. Staff accounts are not charged per user. Dinlr sells hardware too, for example an iPad from S$649, an Epson T82 printer at S$359 and a cash drawer at S$99, and its hardware page says it uses readily available hardware. There is a 14-day free trial with no credit card, and you can cancel any time, although fees already charged for the current cycle are not refunded pro rata.
Eats365
Eats365 is F&B only. POS Basic is SG$39 a month on annual billing (SG$49 monthly) with one POS licence, one user account and four basic reports. POS Advanced is SG$89 (SG$109 monthly) with unlimited users, 20+ reports and access to expansion modules. Modules cost extra, such as the kitchen display at SG$39 a month and Scan-to-Order at SG$119 a month per outlet on annual billing. Loyalty, reservations and gift cards are listed as premium features. It suits a café that wants to start small and add modules later.
Rewardly
Rewardly‘s Growth plan is aimed at hawkers and home businesses: from SGD39 a month for NEA-licensed hawkers and $59 for others, with a lite POS, QR ordering, PayNow and loyalty, DIY setup and email support. The Professional plan starts from SGD99 a month and adds kiosk, kitchen display, e-signage and GrabFood integration, with in-person setup. Annual plans get two months free, and its homepage mentions free hardware leasing on the annual plan, no lock-in and no termination penalty, plus an offline mode. Its plan card and feature table list payment methods differently for Growth, so confirm which payments are included.
EPOS and EPOS360
EPOS sells an all-in-one POS for retail, F&B and minimarts. Its homepage says the system works offline, lists inventory and e-commerce integration, and says technicians are available from 9am to 11pm every day. The homepage also advertises “less than S$1K after grants”, which refers to the PSG scheme that ends on 29 September 2026, so ask how pricing works under EDGE. For the smallest businesses, EPOS360 runs on your phone from SGD50, with three extra months free on a 12-month subscription and an optional BlueTap payment device for a one-time SGD 150 with a one-year replacement warranty. It lists retail, minimart, F&B, hair salon, gym and services businesses.
Shopify POS
Shopify POS fits small retailers whose online store matters as much as the shop. Shopify’s Singapore pricing page shows the Basic plan at $29 SGD a month (billed yearly; $39 monthly) with in-person card rates of 3% + $0.50 SGD (3.2% online), and a POS Pro add-on at $129 SGD a month per location for staff roles and permissions and in-store inventory management. Hardware is bought separately, and the POS page showed a hardware promotion with POS Pro when we checked.
Best POS by budget and business type
Hawker stall or kiosk
Fixed costs matter most. HitPay has no monthly fee and a SGD 30 SoundBox. Rewardly Growth has a published hawker rate for NEA-licensed stalls. Qashier is a flat daily price with everything switched on. If you need queue alerts or a self-order kiosk, see our hawker POS page and our hawker POS comparison.
Small café
You will want kitchen tickets or a kitchen screen, QR ordering and probably GrabFood. Qashier includes these in its daily price. Dinlr and Eats365 start lower but charge per module, so price the modules you need. Rewardly Professional bundles kiosk, kitchen display and GrabFood. More in our café POS comparison and on our café POS page.
Small retail shop
Barcode scanning, stock counts and product variants matter. If you also sell online, Shopify POS or HitPay keep one product list across channels. Our omnichannel selling guide covers what to check before integrating. Our round-up of Shopify POS alternatives in Singapore compares other options. EPOS lists retail and minimart features, and Qashier offers Shopify and WooCommerce sync. See our retail POS comparison and retail POS page.
Salon or service business
Look for appointments, packages and staff commissions. Qashier lists bookings, packages and commissions for beauty and services. EPOS360 lists hair salons, gyms and services. For gym-specific needs, see POS for gyms and fitness studios. Our salon POS comparison goes further, and our salon start-up guide covers licences and fit-out.
True cost example: a small café counter over 12 months
This is a hypothetical example, not a quote. It uses published list prices from each vendor’s site in September 2026, excluding GST, for one counter terminal and a receipt printer where priced. Vendors not in the table either do not publish enough to cost it, or are aimed elsewhere.
| Option (hypothetical setup) | Software, 12 months | Hardware | Year-one total before payment fees |
|---|---|---|---|
| Qashier: $5/day plus QashierX2 terminal at $1/day | $1,825 | $365 (rent-to-own over two years) | $2,190 |
| HitPay: POS on a WisePad 3 | $0 (0.2% of processed sales instead) | SGD 85 | SGD 85 plus 0.2% of sales |
| Dinlr: Waiter on annual billing, iPad, Epson T82 printer, cash drawer | S$1,068 | S$649 + S$359 + S$99 | S$2,175 |
| EPOS360: Grow plan plus BlueTap | SGD 600 (plus 3 free months on a 12-month plan) | SGD 150 | SGD 750 |
| Eats365: POS Basic on annual billing | SG$468 | Not priced on pricing page | SG$468 plus hardware |
Now add payment fees. Suppose, hypothetically, the café takes $10,000 a month by domestic card at an average of $20 per sale, which is 500 card payments. At HitPay’s published rates, that is 2.5% ($250) plus $0.50 × 500 ($250) plus the 0.2% POS fee ($20): about $520 a month, or around $6,240 a year. That is well above the year-one software cost of any plan in the table. Most other vendors quote card rates separately, so ask each one for rates on the same monthly volume before you compare. The cheapest subscription is not always the cheapest year.
Our POS system cost guide covers the other line items, such as kitchen screens, installation and training.
The EDGE Grant for small businesses
According to Enterprise Singapore, EDG, MRA and PSG cease on 29 September 2026, and from 30 September businesses apply for support under the EDGE Grant. Enterprise Singapore states support of up to 70% for SMEs and up to 50% for non-SMEs, with support levels that differ by activity. There is a cap of S$100,000 in total grant support per year across all activities, refreshed on 1 April each year.
Two points matter for a small owner. First, the grant is paid on a reimbursement basis, and claims can only be submitted once the activity is completed and full payment has been made. You pay upfront and claim later. Second, a plan with a very low subscription and no hardware purchase may not be worth a grant application at all. Grants help most when there is a meaningful upfront spend on hardware and setup. Ask each vendor, in writing, whether its package qualifies and which activity it falls under. Our grant guide explains the steps.
POS for a new opening or startup
If you are choosing a POS system for a startup or a first outlet, you are buying before you have any sales history. That changes the priorities.
- Keep the upfront spend small. Cash is tightest before opening. Rent-to-own hardware, or software that runs on a device you already own, keeps money free for fit-out and stock.
- Buy for day one, and price month six. Start with the modules you need to open, and ask in writing what adding QR ordering, a kitchen display or a second outlet would cost later.
- Time any grant around your cash flow. Enterprise Singapore describes the EDGE Grant as being for Singapore companies and states that claims can be submitted once the activity is completed and full payment has been made. A new business therefore pays in full first, so ask the vendor to confirm whether your package qualifies before you sign.
- Book setup before your soft opening. Leave time to load the menu, test printers and payments, and train staff on a practice service.
How to choose: a checklist for small business owners
- Write down your must-haves. For example: PayNow and NETS, GrabFood, a kitchen printer, barcode scanning or bookings.
- Estimate your monthly card and PayNow volume. Ask every vendor to cost payment fees at that volume.
- Price the full setup, not the entry plan. Include every module and device you need on day one.
- Decide buy, rent or bundled hardware. Ask what happens to rented hardware when you leave.
- Read the contract terms. Minimum term, notice period, refunds and whether prices can change.
- Test offline behaviour in the demo. Switch off the Wi-Fi and try to take an order.
- Check support hours against your trading hours. Weekend evenings especially. See what good POS support looks like and what to ask.
- Ask about data export. If you leave, can you take your sales, product and customer data with you? Our switching guide explains what to ask.
- Confirm grant eligibility in writing before you pay anything.
Where ChaChaCha fits
ChaChaCha is F&B-first, and it also has a retail kiosk mode. Pricing is quote-based, and there is no published price. We think that is fair to say plainly: if you want to sign up online today at a published price, the vendors above let you do that.
What you get in a ChaChaCha quote:
- Hardware supplied by AppsPOS as part of the package, so you are not buying terminals and printers separately.
- A hybrid POS that keeps taking orders if the internet drops and syncs later, with table management, split bills and tabs, modifiers, staff permissions, and an English or 中文 interface and kitchen tickets.
- Payments through DBS, UOB and 2C2P, including PayNow, PayLah!, NETS, Visa/Mastercard and GrabPay, with split payments and automated reconciliation. See POS payments.
- Recipe-level inventory: each sale deducts ingredients by recipe, with recipe costing per menu item. See inventory management.
- Growth tools when you need them: QR ordering, a self-order kiosk with a built-in card terminal, loyalty, GrabFood integration, reports and Xero integration.
- Grants: AppsPOS has been a PSG pre-approved vendor and is approved under the EDGE Grant. Support levels differ by activity, so we confirm what applies to your package in writing.
Contract length, support hours and anything not listed here: ask us to confirm, and get it in writing from each vendor, including us. See how our pricing works, run the numbers in the POS cost calculator, or ask for a quote to compare against the published prices above.