Disclosure: ChaChaCha is a POS vendor, powered by AppsPOS, so we compete with some of the companies on this page. Facts about other vendors come only from information published on each vendor’s own website as of September 2026.
- WESS is a salon and spa system from a company with offices in Singapore and Malaysia. It focuses on appointments, prepaid packages, staff commission and customer engagement. It publishes no pricing.
- Fresha is a global booking platform and marketplace used in more than 120 countries, including Singapore. It publishes per-member pricing in SGD, plus payment and messaging fees.
- Fresha suits owners who want self-serve sign-up and marketplace discovery. WESS suits owners who want a local vendor with guided set-up and package and commission control.
- Neither is best for everyone. Book a demo or trial with both and test your own services, packages and payroll rules.
Last reviewed: September 2026
If you run a hair salon, nail studio, spa or aesthetic clinic in Singapore, WESS and Fresha will probably both be on your shortlist. They solve the same core problem, which is filling the appointment book and getting paid, but they come at it from different directions. WESS is a regional salon system sold and supported from Singapore. Fresha is a global platform with a consumer marketplace attached. For an all-in-one POS alternative, see how Qashier compares with Fresha. This page compares WESS vs Fresha (or Fresha vs WESS, if you started from the other side) on bookings, packages, commissions, payments, marketing and cost structure. For a wider field, see our best salon POS system guide.
How we compared
- Vendor websites only. Every fact about WESS comes from wessconnect.com, and every fact about Fresha from fresha.com, as we read them in September 2026.
- “Not stated on their website” means we could not find it on the pages we reviewed. It does not mean the feature is missing.
- Prices are quoted only where a vendor publishes them. WESS does not publish pricing, so we cannot compare total cost. Ask both vendors for a written quote for your team size.
- No review-site ratings are used on this page, and we have not tested either product ourselves.
WESS at a glance
WESS describes itself as salon and spa software for Singapore and Malaysia. We also compare it with an all-in-one POS in WESS versus Qashier. Its footer lists a Singapore office at Ubi Techpark and a Malaysia office in Johor, under Refine Solutions Pte Ltd. The homepage says it has more than 12 years of experience working with beauty businesses, and its About page calls it a local provider of cloud-based management software for the beauty, hair, spa and wellness industry. From its feature pages:
- Appointments: booking from the front desk, from home, from your website or from its consumer app, plus automated reminders and staff scheduling (appointment page).
- Consumer Web App: customers book 24/7, choose a therapist or stylist, see promotions and pay online by card or PayNow (CWA page).
- POS built for packages: allocating a partial payment to the right items, and controlling prepaid and credit use so customers cannot consume more than they have paid for (POS page). The same page lists a cashless payment feature as coming soon, so ask WESS how card and PayNow payments at the counter work today.
- Staff: automated commission calculation, scheduling and employee performance analytics (employees page).
- Engagement: email and SMS campaigns, promotions, reminders and post-service surveys, plus WhatsApp Connect, which sends reminders, confirmations, cancellations and receipts from your own WhatsApp Business number (WhatsApp page).
- Back office: CRM, inventory that separates retail stock from items used in services, multi-branch management and reporting (other features).
WESS has no pricing page. You request a free demo and receive a quote.
Fresha at a glance
Fresha’s homepage says it has more than 130,000 partner businesses in over 120 countries, and it lists salons, barbers, spas and other businesses in Singapore on its marketplace. It serves salons, barbers, nail studios, spas, medspas, massage, fitness and other appointment businesses. From its point of sale page and pricing page:
- Bookings: calendar and scheduling, waitlists, group bookings, processing and finishing times, resources and patch tests, with online booking through direct links, Facebook, Instagram and its client app.
- Checkout: services, products, packages, memberships and gift cards in one cart, with split and partial payments, deposits, tipping and itemised receipts.
- Commissions: automatic commission calculation at checkout. On the pricing table, sales commissions, wages, pay runs and timesheets sit with the Team plan.
- Marketplace: the marketplace page says listing is free and a commission applies only to brand-new clients who book you through the marketplace, not to returning clients.
- Add-ons: paid options such as client loyalty, an AI concierge, Xero accounting, a data connector and premium support.
Pricing: what each vendor publishes
Fresha’s pricing page, as shown to us in SGD, lists an Independent plan at SGD 28.95 a month for one bookable team member, and a Team plan at SGD 18.95 per bookable team member a month, with custom Enterprise rates for businesses with more than 20 team members. It offers a 7-day trial and says there is no minimum commitment. On top of the subscription it lists card payments at 3.29% + SGD 0.50 per transaction online and in person, text reminders at SGD 0.10 each after a free allowance, and add-ons priced per location. The new-client marketplace commission rate was not shown on the pages we read, so ask Fresha for it. Our guide to Fresha plans and fees in Singapore sets out what is published.
WESS does not publish prices, so the total cost for your salon is not stated on their website. For public ratings and questions to ask, see our guide to WESS reviews. That is common for vendors that include set-up and training. When you compare, add up subscription, payment fees, messaging, hardware, add-ons and set-up over two or three years, not just the monthly headline. Our POS cost guide shows how.
Side-by-side comparison
| Area | WESS (from its website) | Fresha (from its website) |
|---|---|---|
| Who it is for | Beauty, hair, nail salons, spas, aesthetic clinics | Salons, barbers, spas, medspas, fitness and other appointment businesses |
| Where | Offices in Singapore and Johor | Global; 120+ countries including Singapore |
| Online booking | Website and Consumer Web App, 24/7 | Direct links, social media, client app, marketplace |
| Marketplace discovery | Not stated on their website | Yes; commission on new marketplace clients only |
| Prepaid packages and credits | Package and credit control, partial payment allocation | Packages, memberships, gift cards, partial payments |
| Staff commission | Automated commission, performance analytics | Automated commission (Team plan), wages, pay runs |
| Reminders | Automated, including WhatsApp from your own number | Email free; text and WhatsApp after allowance |
| Payments | Online card and PayNow via its app; counter cashless listed as coming soon | Fresha payments, 3.29% + SGD 0.50; terminals from SGD 499 |
| Accounting | Not stated on their website | Xero add-on |
| Published pricing | Not stated on their website | Yes, in SGD |
Bookings, packages and commissions
Both systems cover the daily essentials: an appointment book, online self-booking, reminders and client records. The difference is emphasis. WESS puts a lot of its detail into the money side of beauty businesses: splitting a partial payment across package items, stopping customers from using up credit they have not paid for, and calculating commission correctly from those allocations. If you sell large prepaid packages and pay therapists on complex commission rules, ask WESS to walk through a real package from your price list during the demo. Our guides to prepaid salon packages and salon commission tracking list what to test.
Fresha’s strength is breadth and self-service. Our Fresha review summary covers what salon owners say about it. Packages, memberships, gift cards, deposits and tipping all sit in one checkout, and a salon can sign up and start taking bookings without a sales call. Group bookings and processing times help with colour services and events. Test whether its commission rules match how you actually pay staff, especially if rates differ by service, product and seniority.
Marketing and customer engagement
WESS lists email and SMS campaigns, promotions, post-service surveys and WhatsApp notifications sent from your own business number, which customers already recognise. Fresha lists marketing tools, deals and promotions, a free monthly email allowance and paid texts, plus a Google review add-on and a client loyalty add-on. The biggest structural difference is Fresha’s marketplace: it can send you new clients who are already searching for a service nearby, in return for a commission on their first booking. If most of your clients come from walk-ins, referrals and your own Instagram, that matters less. If you are new and need discovery, it may matter a lot. Our appointment booking system guide covers the trade-offs.
Best for: our verdicts
WESS is likely the better fit if
- You sell prepaid packages and credits and need tight control over what has been paid and used.
- Your commission rules are complex and you want a vendor to set them up with you.
- You want a Singapore-based vendor with guided onboarding and after-sales support.
- You want WhatsApp reminders from your own business number.
Fresha is likely the better fit if
- You want published prices and to sign up yourself, with a short trial and no minimum commitment.
- You want new clients from a consumer marketplace and accept a commission on first bookings.
- You are a solo practitioner or a small team, where per-member pricing stays predictable.
- You want deposits, packages, memberships and gift cards in one checkout, with optional add-ons later.
Still undecided? Our WESS alternatives guide and Fresha alternatives guide list other Singapore options by need.
Also consider
If your business mixes services with food and drink, for example a spa with a cafe or a salon that sells retail, a POS built for several business types may suit you. ChaChaCha, powered by AppsPOS, is F&B-first with retail and beauty second. It offers loyalty with points and stamps, stored value, vouchers, birthday rewards and WhatsApp marketing, plus PayNow, PayLah!, NETS and card payments with split payments. Pricing is quote-based. For appointment-specific features, ask us to confirm what fits your salon before you decide. See our salon and spa POS page, compare F&B options in our best F&B POS guide, or contact us.
Questions to ask both vendors
- What is the total cost for my team size over two years, including payments, messages, add-ons and hardware?
- How do partial payments, packages and credits show up in commission reports?
- Which payment methods work at the counter today, including PayNow and NETS, and what are the fees?
- Can you import my existing client list, package balances and appointment history?
- What support hours and response times are in the contract?
- Is the solution supported under the EDGE Grant, which replaces PSG from 30 September 2026?