Disclosure: ChaChaCha is a POS vendor, powered by AppsPOS, and publishes this page. We compete with both HitPay and FoodZaps. Every fact about them comes only from their own websites as of September 2026, linked where used.
- HitPay is payments-first: no setup or monthly fee, with its POS adding 0.2% on top of payment processing.
- FoodZaps is an F&B POS with tiered monthly plans, from free to US$139.90 a month, priced in US dollars, with card processing through your own provider.
- HitPay suits counters and stalls that mainly need PayNow, cards and simple product sales. FoodZaps suits outlets that need ordering stations and kitchen screens.
- Many small operators could use both kinds of tool, so compare the whole cost, including payment fees, before you choose.
Last reviewed: September 2026
HitPay and FoodZaps are two of the lower-cost ways to put a POS on a Singapore counter, but they come at the problem from opposite ends. HitPay is a licensed payment company that adds a POS to its payments account and charges per transaction, with no monthly subscription. FoodZaps is an Android restaurant POS that charges a monthly software fee and lets you choose how you take card payments. If you are searching “hitpay vs foodzaps” (or “foodzaps vs hitpay”) for a café, kiosk or hawker stall, this page sets out what each vendor publishes and who each one suits. For wider shortlists, see our HitPay POS alternatives and FoodZaps alternatives guides, and our list of the best hawker POS systems in Singapore.
How we compared
We read each vendor’s own website on 29 September 2026 and used nothing else: no review sites, no reseller claims and no third-party quotes. Where a detail was not on the pages we reviewed, the table says “not stated on their website”. That means we could not find it, not that it does not exist. We did not test either product. Prices are quoted exactly as published, and they change, so confirm them in writing before you sign.
HitPay at a glance
HitPay’s POS page describes a POS for Singapore F&B and retail that accepts PayNow QR, cards and e-wallets in store. It says HitPay Payment Solutions Pte Ltd is a Major Payment Institution licensed by the Monetary Authority of Singapore. Its industry list covers F&B, retail, fitness and gyms, and health, beauty and spa.
- Fees: no setup fee and no monthly fee. The pricing page lists in-person PayNow at 0.4% (minimum S$0.10) and in-person domestic cards at 2.5% + S$0.50, and the Point of Sale product adds 0.2% on top of processing.
- Hardware: Tap to Pay is free on a supported iPhone or Android phone. Physical devices are one-time purchases, including the HitPay SoundBox at SGD 30 and the WisePad 3 reader at SGD 85, with no terminal rental.
- POS features: products, variants and prices, inventory tracking with low-stock alerts, free multi-location management, and sync with a HitPay online store.
- For restaurants: its restaurant page covers printed table QR codes that customers scan to pay, tableside card terminals, payment links for pre-orders, GST-ready receipts and next-business-day payouts. It says its terminals accept NETS, Visa, Mastercard, PayNow and GrabPay.
- Delivery apps: the same page says HitPay does not integrate directly with GrabFood or foodpanda, and suggests payment links for your own pre-orders instead.
FoodZaps at a glance
FoodZaps’ home page describes an Android POS for F&B, with suggested set-ups for cafés, hawker stalls, grab-and-go kiosks, restaurants and bars. It says it was registered in Singapore in January 2014, and its contact page lists a Singapore HQ at Block 71 Ayer Rajah Crescent.
- Plans: the pricing page says “All prices in USD”. Snack is free; Entrée is $9.90 a month for kiosks and grab-and-go; Full Course is $39.90 for cafés, bars and casual dining, adding a kitchen display, inventory and unlimited users; Gala is $89.90 with on-device customer self-ordering; Carnival is $139.90 with online ordering and third-party integration. Yearly billing takes 10% off.
- Trial and contract: free trial with no credit card, an option to stay on the free version, and no long-term contract.
- Offline: its features page describes online and offline operation that syncs to the cloud when you reconnect.
- Ordering and kitchen: order stations, Quick Order for counters, handheld ordering on staff Android phones, self-ordering, SMS ordering, a kitchen display and a progress station.
- Payments: split bills, custom payment types, held bills, gift cards and vouchers, with card payments through your preferred processor.
The FoodZaps footer is dated 2022, so confirm current plans and currency with FoodZaps before you rely on them.
HitPay vs FoodZaps: side-by-side comparison
| Area | HitPay | FoodZaps |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly software fee | None; POS adds 0.2% on processing. | Free to US$139.90 by tier. |
| Payments | Built in: PayNow 0.4%, domestic cards 2.5% + S$0.50 in person. | Your own card processor. |
| Hardware | Tap to Pay on a phone; readers bought outright. | Android devices and printers you source. |
| Offline | Not stated on their website. | Online and offline hybrid sync. |
| Table ordering | Table QR codes for payment. | Order stations and self-ordering. |
| Kitchen display | Not stated on their website. | From Full Course. |
| Inventory | Products, variants, low-stock alerts. | From Full Course. |
| Delivery apps | No direct GrabFood or foodpanda integration. | Not stated on their website. |
| Online store | HitPay online store with stock sync. | Website menu; online ordering on Carnival. |
| Multi-outlet | Free multi-location management. | Multi-outlet consolidated reports. |
| Payouts | Next business day. | Depends on your processor. |
| Industries | F&B, retail, fitness, beauty and spa. | F&B. |
Cost: per transaction vs per month
HitPay’s model means your cost rises with your sales. A stall taking mostly PayNow pays 0.4% (minimum S$0.10) plus the 0.2% POS fee on each payment, and a card payment in person costs 2.5% + S$0.50 plus the POS fee. There is nothing to pay in a quiet month. For small tickets such as a S$4 drink, the fixed S$0.50 on cards is a large share, so check how your customers usually pay. Our HitPay pricing guide works through examples.
FoodZaps’ model is the reverse: a fixed monthly fee, priced in US dollars, and whatever your chosen card provider charges on top. A busy counter might find a fixed fee cheaper over time, and a quiet one might not. To compare fairly, take last month’s sales, split by payment method, and work out the total cost on each, including hardware, card processing and GST.
Counter, stall and kiosk set-ups
For a hawker stall or kiosk that sells a short menu and mainly needs to take payment quickly, HitPay’s printed PayNow QR, SoundBox confirmation and Tap to Pay on a phone keep the set-up light. Its POS handles products, variants and stock, but the pages we read do not describe kitchen tickets, table management or a kitchen display, so check how orders reach the back if you cook to order.
FoodZaps is built around the order itself. Its hardware page suggests a single Android phone and receipt printer for a small counter, and adds ordering devices, a kitchen printer and a router for a restaurant. A café with a kitchen, table service or self-ordering will find more F&B workflow in FoodZaps. The trade-off is set-up work: you source the devices and connect a card processor yourself.
Cafés and small restaurants
Once you add seats, kitchen routing and staff taking orders at the table, the gap widens. FoodZaps’ Full Course plan brings a kitchen display, queue display, customer display and inventory, and Gala adds customer self-ordering on devices. HitPay’s restaurant tools focus on getting paid at the table: QR payment codes, tableside terminals and pre-order payment links, with next-day payouts. Neither lists a direct delivery app integration on the pages we read, so outlets relying on GrabFood should plan for a separate tablet or confirm an integration in writing.
Which should you choose?
- Best for no monthly commitment: HitPay. No setup or monthly fee; you pay per transaction.
- Best for PayNow-heavy stalls and kiosks: HitPay, with PayNow at 0.4% and a SoundBox or phone as the only hardware.
- Best for cafés that need kitchen screens and ordering stations: FoodZaps, from its Full Course plan.
- Best for owners who want to pick their own card processor: FoodZaps.
- Best for mixed retail and F&B or services: HitPay, whose industry list goes beyond F&B.
Where ChaChaCha fits
If your outlet needs both strong payments and a full kitchen workflow, ChaChaCha, powered by AppsPOS, is a Singapore F&B-first POS. It keeps taking orders if the internet drops and syncs later, and covers table management, split bills and tabs, custom modifiers, staff permissions, a KDS with station routing, order prioritisation and prep timers, QR ordering for dine-in and pre-order, a self-order kiosk with a built-in card terminal, and an English and Chinese interface and kitchen tickets. Payments cover PayNow, PayLah!, NETS, Visa, Mastercard and GrabPay, and AppsPOS is a NETS Certified Vendor. It integrates GrabFood and offers a queue system with SMS notifications. Hardware is supplied by AppsPOS as part of the package, and pricing is quote-based, so contact us for a quote and ask us to confirm anything not listed on our site. Our HitPay vs ChaChaCha and FoodZaps vs ChaChaCha pages compare features in more detail.